Kopete : Perfect messenger for accounts

I was trying to find a alternative option to yahoo messenger in Ubuntu as the Yahoo supported package is near to lost and got lot of dependencies to go through. Few alternatives i tried is

PIDGIN: I think one of the simplest and elegant messenger. Can have it work for multi accounts. DISADV: No webcam of video or audio conferencing available.

GATCHY: Man , God save me. Set it up seems I am for a marathon. Never worked.

Ekiga: It hangs forever after trying for network checking. But I find a lot of good words in the forums and so this wud be my personal comment.

Kopete: Wheww! I think this is cool. Open your terminal and run the command to install kopete.

saffrongeek@saffrongeek-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get install kopete

it sets up, add account and you got in. I do find video working but i need to explore further as sometimes it crashes while sending requests to view my webcam.ALT + F4 needs to be rescue point to kill request window to come out of freeze 🙂

Also, another issue is with kfmclient service not found.Could not launch the browser:Could not find service ‘kfmclient’.

I think this bug could be resolved with installing the package “kubuntu-desktop”. i found this link much useful https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/meta-kde/+bug/281679

Leave a Reply

