Ubuntu :: Forgot your root or user passwords

The below mentioned is very simple steps for reseting the user password or root passwords. It happened like , I reset my password before taking off after a long tiring day at work and when i joined back to desk after some rest, I was not able to remember my new password. Also, it was then I realized that I dont remember my root password as well.

What I did was :

1. Restarted my machine.

2. Press ‘Esc’ Key while grub menu appeared. If only Linux , this scree splashes for a second or so .. so in that case you could press ESC key after BIOS load.

3. You would have the below screen where you select ‘recovery mode’

RecoveryMode

RecoveryMode

4. After selecting the recovery mode, you would have a similiar screen:

select root password optio

select root password optio

5.  You would be able to get a screen similiar and type o the prompt

passwd {userame}

6. Provide the password ad new password and

password and newpasswd

password and newpasswd

7. Type ‘reboot’

4 Responses to “Ubuntu :: Forgot your root or user passwords”

  1. There is no root password in Ubuntu by default. That’s how you are able to select Recovery Mode.

    If you set a root password, you cannot enter Recovery Mode without also entering the root password.

  2. […] The below mentioned is very simple steps for reseting the user password or root passwords. It happened like , I reset my password before taking off after a long tiring day at work and when i joined back to desk after some rest, I was not able to remember my new password. More here […]

Leave a Reply

